Summer to the Rescue

After a busy week of waiting for my dog to act photogenic without any success, I gave up on my previous idea for the “superhero” project.  With time ticking away, I thought I would be at a loss again this week, since I haven’t found anything else to photograph.

Relaxing on a Sunday afternoon without any ideas.  That’s where I was a few hours ago.  Getting ready for a family dinner, after just spending all day out at a not-so-successful craft fair.  I’m a little tired, and a little more sunburned, but I don’t mind.  It was wonderful just being able to spend the whole day outdoors enjoying the warmth and sunshine, even if I got a little too much of it.  While pondering the days events, and hanging out in the back yard with the grill going, that’s when I thought of what could be a great example of a superhero for me:  summer time!

Yes, I know it seems like I can’t get enough of this simple thing, and I talk about it all the time, but I truly love it.  Summer is the time where I feel most adventurous, relaxed, inspired, motivated, and just simply happy.  I literally spend all year looking forward to it, and start missing it the second I realize that it’s leaving, if I’m not already planning on escaping to a place that can give me a temporary taste of summer.  It’s funny when you think of it; summer has no feelings, no intentions, no emotions, no deliberate actions.  It just comes and goes every year.  But it lifts my spirits, and for that I am grateful that this seemingly happenstance of a season occurs every year.  Maybe one day I’ll live in a place that is summer all year round — it’s not like I haven’t started thinking about it.

With everything going on, and running in and out of the house as “grill assistant”, I decided to take advantage of the summer day that we were all enjoying, and capture a few of the simple pleasures in life.  So enjoy my little summer sunday afternoon with the family.

Leave a comment